PDA

View Full Version : 24 ft. Skipjack re- power

Al Gagnon
01-27-2008, 08:37 AM
Posted a question on Bloodydecks and did not get much help. Looking to repower my sons 24 ft. skipjack. Was looking at a volvo v-6 chevy with volvo 280 or 290 hp outdrive. Would a straight 6 be ok. 25 mph is enough but I think my son wants as much as he can get when weather is right. Any suggestions would be helpfull. Al

NoSlack
01-27-2008, 09:17 AM
My buddy has the chevy 350 V8 in his and he runs it around 24 knots and kicks it up to 28 when the weather is nice. A 6 cyl might be a little light for that boat.

Mike

Honeygirl
01-27-2008, 11:24 AM
Al, I did a complete re-do on a 20 Skippy before I bought my Blackman. My buddy just finished a 24 so I have a lot of background in skipjacks. I put a Marine Power EFI350 with a 290dp in it. I cruised at 28kts and topped out at 35-39knts the boat is a lot lighter than a 24 and the engine had more horse power than most marine 350's. If I were you I would give Zack (fireescape) a call he is selling a diesel and out drive package that would be perfect for that boat. You are going to spend about the same for both and the safety and reliability of the diesel far out weighs the gas motor.

Al Gagnon
01-29-2008, 09:48 AM