+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Diesel question

Default Diesel question

I bought a 2010 Ford F250 2 months ago. Coming home in traffic last Thursday the truck completely shut itself off WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I wrestled it into the disabled lane, put it in park, and turned the key off. I tried to start it and the starter was fine, but the motor would not fire up. Had it towed to Ford dealership and they notified me that is was a bad injector....

If a single injector goes, will that disable the whole truck? I'm no diesel mechanic, but is seems like a dead injector would only effect one cylinder?

Any help/advice before I pick my truck up on Tuesday?

Thanks,

-Brian
    Last edited by brian_g; 05-22-2010 at 02:53 PM.

That problem sounds a lot like the " bad cam position sensor" problem on the 7.3 power strokes.

The new 6.0 engines have a lot more computer controls so who know what a bad injector would do to engine. Does seem like over kill to shut the truck down for something like that.

Mike
    NoSlack-------------------------------------------<'(((>{

Yep, my 2002 7.3 has gone through 3 cam sensors.

Default Power stroke diesel

Hey Joe a freind of mine works on the Ford diesels he has his own shop in Murrieta his name is Jesus and he owns Murrieta Diesel he can help you for sure here is his number 951 304-9301 just tell him the Fred told you to call him i am sure he can fix your problems .

Joe,

Not sure but, at least you have the truck under full warranty right? I would make them fix it and explain the problem to you in detail. That is kinda scarey. My 2003 7.3 hasn't encountered the CAM problem. Hopefully it won't. Good luck. At least you weren't towing the boat when it happened...were you?
    Tenacious

I thought 2003 was 6.0 engines; when did they make the switch?